Since moving to Scotland I have been looking into jobs related to my field of costume, design or construction. This isn’t an easy thing to do when I’ve coached gymnastics since the age of 16. I needed to build up references outside of the sport. Even working in retail requires work experience.

Luckily enough, within a couple of weeks I got talking to the lovely owner of Circa Vintage in Ruthven Lane in Glasgow’s West End. Circa Vintage is filled with various treasures spanning over the last century. From dresses, accessories, shoes, bags and even menswear, working with this store was just what I was looking for. She needed an alterationist to repair or modify some garments, it was perfect.

Shown below are some of my favourite pieces I’ve been working with over the past few weeks. So far I’ve mostly been working with dresses from early 1960’s to late 1970’s. Except one little number that is a gorgeous black 1950’s dress that looks as if it’s straight out of Audrey Hepburn’s “Sabrina” from 1954.

Right now, the biggest project is putting a modern spin on a lot of the 60’s/70’s floor length dresses by shortening them to midi or knee-length. The three from the first photo below have all been shortened and re-hemmed. Sometimes it seems like a shame to cut them, but shorter dresses are what sell, and the left over fabric will be put to good use. I’ve found myself looking forward to the day I get this week’s bundle of garments to see what beauty’s I’ve got to work with.

Circa Vintage is a true goldmine of many fabulous one-off vintage pieces. If you are ever near Byres Road in Glasgow’s West End, I suggest taking a trip into Ruthven Lane and checking it out for yourself.

IMG_0726 IMG_0948

P7310405

Leave a Reply

